Thank you for your continued trust in me as your County Clerk. I look forward to continuing to serve you and our community.
- Chuck Kizer
|Motor Vehicles and Tags|
New Vehicle: Purchaser needs to have in their possession (MSO) Manufacturer Statement of Origin, completed by dealer and purchaser. Also need bill of sale stating tax collected and lien holder (if any). If vehicle is purchased out of state and sales tax is lower than TN, the difference will be collected at time of registration.
Used Vehicle: Purchaser should have title in their possession with the buyer's and seller's signatures. Odometer is required for vehicles ten years or newer. Tax will be collected at time of registration unless dealer collected tax. Selling price of vehicle has to be 75% of book value. Low selling price will delay process of issuing title. Affidavit of Non-Dealer Transfers of Motor Vehicles and Boats (SF1301201) can be used for low selling price or gift. Do not purchase vehicle if seller's signature does not match the name on the front of the title. If lien appears on front of title, make sure it has been released before purchase. If lien needs to be noted on either new or used, make sure full name and address is properly recorded on back of title.
Moving to Tennessee: Owner needs title from previous state, or if still paying on vehicle, owner needs current registration and full name and address of lien holder. Cost of transferring out of state title and to obtain plate and registration is $62.00.
Replacement of Lost Tennessee Title: Tennessee title is the only title that may be replaced. No out of state titles. To obtain a replacement title, Certificate for Duplicate Certificate of Title (SF0968) has to be completed and signed by registered owner. Owner must present I.D. and pay $11.00.
Noting of Lien: In order to note lien, Noting of Lien (SF0943) has to be completed and signed by registered owner. Must have TN title and a security agreement between the lender and borrower. Noting of lien: $10.50
Multiple Owners: Only one signaure is required on title if registered to two or more and is joined by "OR". If joined by "AND" both signaures are required.
Selling of Vehicle: Registered owner of vehicle signs his/her name as signature of seller. Individual obtaining ownership of vehicle signs their name as buyer with complete address. Seller should never sign title without buyer completing his or her portion on the title. This is known as an open title and could result in penalties to the seller.
Handicap: Handicap individual must have Application for Disabled Person License Plate and/or Placard (SF0953) completed by physician to obtain plates or placard. If purchasing plate, title must have handicap person's name on it. Handicap license plates at time of renewal are: $51.00. If it is not renewal time and you are wishing to get handicap plates, you will need to surrender your current plate for credit and your handicap plate will be issued for a full year from when you exchange plates. If permanently confined to wheelchair, one license plate is free but you are responsible for paying the $27.00 wheel tax fee. If handicap individual obtains plates, the first placard is free. If no plate is purchased, placard is $21.50, renewable every two years for $3.
Renewals: The price for regular plates is $51.00/year. The price for regular personalized or cultural plates is $87.00/year. The price for personalized cultural or specialty plates is $122.00/year. The price for motorcycle plates is $44.00/year.
The Organ Donor program saves many lives in Tennessee. Mr. Kizer promotes the organ donor program to educate the citizens of Lawrence County in the many ways that their losses become lifesaving blessings.
Hunting and Fishing Licenses may be purchased at your County Clerk's Office. For online information regarding licensing, please refer to the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency.